Important: Your continued use of this forum indicates acceptance of the forum rules. Please make sure you have read and understand these rules.

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Reuleaux RX200S TC Problem
Donkey Offline
Member
***

Posts: 114
Likes Given: 0
Likes Received: 18 in 14 posts
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
Sex:
Location: England
Post: #1
Reuleaux RX200S TC Problem
Hi All

I'm having a problem with my Reuleaux RX200S I am trying to use it in TC for SS but as soon as I hit the fire button it keeps changing back to VW mode. Has anyone had this problem before with a Reuleaux RX200S ?
02/01/17 04:44 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply Return to top
Strawb Offline
Member
***

Posts: 183
Likes Given: 12
Likes Received: 92 in 68 posts
Joined: Jul 2015
Reputation: 0
Sex:
Location: Yorkshire
Post: #2
RE: Reuleaux RX200S TC Problem
(02/01/17 04:44 PM)Donkey Wrote:  Hi All

I'm having a problem with my Reuleaux RX200S I am trying to use it in TC for SS but as soon as I hit the fire button it keeps changing back to VW mode. Has anyone had this problem before with a Reuleaux RX200S ?

This has been reported on some other forums. If you aren't using the latest firmware (v4.13) you may have this issue. The solution is to do a firmware update obtainable from the Wismec website:

http://www.wismec.com/software/wismec-tc...ux-rx200s/
02/01/17 05:06 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply Return to top
MDC Offline
Senior Member
******

Posts: 4,768
Likes Given: 211
Likes Received: 1,843 in 1,458 posts
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 17
Sex: Male
Location: Nottingham
Post: #3
RE: Reuleaux RX200S TC Problem
(02/01/17 04:44 PM)Donkey Wrote:  Hi All

I'm having a problem with my Reuleaux RX200S I am trying to use it in TC for SS but as soon as I hit the fire button it keeps changing back to VW mode. Has anyone had this problem before with a Reuleaux RX200S ?

An obvious question, but it has to be asked: you are certain the coil is SS, not kanthal in a SS coil shell? If the coil is kanthal, the mod will not be able to sense resistance change. Apparently a common mistake with Subtank coils.
02/01/17 05:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply Return to top
Strawb Offline
Member
***

Posts: 183
Likes Given: 12
Likes Received: 92 in 68 posts
Joined: Jul 2015
Reputation: 0
Sex:
Location: Yorkshire
Post: #4
RE: Reuleaux RX200S TC Problem
(02/01/17 05:08 PM)MDC Wrote:  An obvious question, but it has to be asked: you are certain the coil is SS, not kanthal in a SS coil shell? If the coil is kanthal, the mod will not be able to sense resistance change. Apparently a common mistake with Subtank coils.

Indeed another possibility, thanks for adding this MDC.
02/01/17 05:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply Return to top
Richard46 Offline
Talking Backwards
*****

Posts: 1,776
Likes Given: 1,313
Likes Received: 1,474 in 816 posts
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 12
Sex: Undisclosed
Location: East London UK
Post: #5
RE: Reuleaux RX200S TC Problem
I have only ever found it totally consistent with thicker SS wire (.5mm in fact) and resistance between .4 and .8 ohms or thereabouts. Might be my dodgy coils though.
That is using the default ss setting. Did play around with custom TCR values but did not seem to help much. Probably me again.

Edit just seen you are asking about the 200S. Mine are just the original RX200. Ignore me.

(This post was last modified: 02/01/17 05:16 PM by Richard46.)
02/01/17 05:14 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply Return to top
Donkey Offline
Member
***

Posts: 114
Likes Given: 0
Likes Received: 18 in 14 posts
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
Sex:
Location: England

Thread Starter

Post: #6
RE: Reuleaux RX200S TC Problem
Hi

I'm on firmware v4.13 and yes its SS wire I'm using 317L. I'm going to try building the ohm a bit higher.
02/01/17 05:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply Return to top
flearider Offline
Senior Member
*****

Posts: 1,582
Likes Given: 224
Likes Received: 489 in 333 posts
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 11
Sex: Male
Location: blackpool
Post: #7
RE: Reuleaux RX200S TC Problem
not all ss 317 is the same I run mine in trc mode

What does it matter now if men believe or no?
What is to come will come. And soon you too will stand aside,
To murmur in pity that my words were true
(Cassandra, in Agamemnon by Aeschylus)
To see the wizard one must look behind the curtain ....
02/01/17 05:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply Return to top
Donkey Offline
Member
***

Posts: 114
Likes Given: 0
Likes Received: 18 in 14 posts
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
Sex:
Location: England

Thread Starter

Post: #8
RE: Reuleaux RX200S TC Problem
(02/01/17 05:56 PM)flearider Wrote:  not all ss 317 is the same I run mine in trc mode

Never tried TRC is it just as good as TC mode ?
02/01/17 06:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply Return to top
Richard46 Offline
Talking Backwards
*****

Posts: 1,776
Likes Given: 1,313
Likes Received: 1,474 in 816 posts
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 12
Sex: Undisclosed
Location: East London UK
Post: #9
RE: Reuleaux RX200S TC Problem
(02/01/17 06:29 PM)Donkey Wrote:  
(02/01/17 05:56 PM)flearider Wrote:  not all ss 317 is the same I run mine in trc mode

Never tried TRC is it just as good as TC mode ?


TCR (Which I presume we are talking abot) is not a mode. It is the Temperature Coefficient of Resistance of a given metal. All Temperature Control modes use one. The TCR needs to be chosen according to the material used in the wire.
The RX200 comes with some TCR settings set as default for the wires most commonly used for TC.
Using the memory feature custom TCRs can be set.

(This post was last modified: 02/01/17 07:16 PM by Richard46.)
02/01/17 07:14 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply Return to top
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)